Terms and Conditions / Entering Criteria 

  1. The awards are not open to employees or officers of Horizon Energy Group, Eastern Bay Chamber of Commerce, judges or other supporting partners of the HEG Business Excellence Awards
  2. Category sponsors cannot enter the category they sponsor.
  3. Eastern Bay Chamber of Commerce places a high value on the Awards. Entrants must disclose any issues that may compromise the integrity of the Awards or cause the business to discontinue in the next year. These issues may include legal action, law changes, possible loss of funding, or other risks.
  4. The Supreme Winners from 2018 are unable to enter the 2021 category that they won in the 2018 Awards. Category winners are unable to enter the same category, however, are open to entering any other category.
  5. Best Emerging Business recognised a business that has achieved significant business growth during the last one to three years as a result of effective planning and delivery. The business must have started trading after 31 March 2018 validated using the NZ Companies registers Office.
  6. By entering these awards you agree to sponsors having access to your contact details.
  7. You need to include some financial numbers to show that your business is sound and/or growing.
  8. All entries must include a brief business biography which includes a history of your business, highlights of what it does and any export markets (200 words maximum).
  9. All entries are judged against the individual award category criteria.
  10. There is no cost to enter the HEG Business Excellence Awards 2021
  11. Any business of any size located in the Eastern Bay area is eligible to enter.
  12. Entrants must have been trading for 12 months or more as at 31 March 2021.
  13. If your organisation is part of a larger organisation you must be able to demonstrate that you function as a separate business unit.
  14. A franchise is judged on its own individual/independent merit and business success not as part of the franchisor.
  15. Each business may enter up to three categories.
  16. You must enter at least one other category to opt in to enter People’s Choice and Sector Excellence Certificates.
  17. If you are selected as a finalist you are required to have at least one representative present at the associated Gala Dinner, this is to ensure there is someone there to represent the business and to accept the Award if you are the winner. 
  18. All entries must be received by 5pm May 28, 2021.


  1. All awards entry documentation and official entry forms are treated as confidential
  2. All judges sign a confidentiality agreement
  3. Judges are assigned in a way to avoid conflicts of interest
  4. Applicants are not expected to provide or reveal proprietary information regarding products, processes or services
  5. Information regarding participation, any awards, or successful strategies may be released only after written approval from the entrant